About Folkestone

The governance of Folkestone lies in both national and local government. Insofar as national government is concerned, Folkestone is part of the constituency of Folkestone and Hythe, which is currently (2010) represented by Damian Collins (Conservative). In the European Parliament, Folkestone is part of the South East England constituency, with ten MEPs. Folkestone is West of Dover, Folkestone is south of Canterbury, all these towns and villages are all in the county of Kent.